Council Recognizes Student Achievements

Middle and high school students were congratulated for art and music accomplishments.


At Monday night's Town Council meeting, members recognized several groups of Coventry students for achievements in art and music programs.

Students from and were acknowledged for their participation in the 2012 Rhode Island Music Educators All-State Music Festival on Mar. 22 and Mar. 25.

Coventry High School student musicians:

Leanne Geer - Jr. All State Treble Chorus, Jenna Larson - Jr. All State Mixed Chorus, Megan Westerfeld - Jr. All State Mixed Chorus, Patrick Ryan - Sr. All State Band, Jennifer Green, Sr. All State Orchestra and Rebecca Chase - Sr. All State Orchestra.

Feinstein Middle School student musicians:

Lillian Brietzke - Jr. All State Mixed Chorus, John Palmer - Jr. All State Symphonic Band, Nathan Tomasso - Jr. All State Jazz Ensemble, Nichole Bouchard, Brenna Griswold, Kelsie Lopez, Brittany Pusateri and Olivia Phillips - Jr. All State Treble Chorus

National Honors Band Musicians:

Eighth graders Trevor Campbell (Tenor Saxophone), John Palmer (Trumpet), Richard Vaughn (Trombone) and Stavros Zaraokostas (Baritone Saxophone) were congratulated for being chosen to perform in the John Philip Sousa National Honors Band.

Scholastic Art Award Winners:

CHS seniors, Michaela Clift and Zachary Deus were recognized for receiving 2012 Rhode Island Scholastic Art Awards. Clift earned a Gold Key Award for her art portfolio and Deus earned a Gold Key Award. Both student's work will be forwarded to New York for competition with other students across the country.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »