.

Setting the Record Straight

By Frank Hyde

 

After I read last week I felt compelled to write a letter myself and hopefully clear up some of Mr. Polselli’s confusion.

I served four terms on the Coventry Town Council. Those were, without a doubt the hardest eight years of my life.

Mr. Polselli, in your letter to the editor you said, “Remember me, because I’m not going away”. Well Richard, maybe you should offer some solutions at the town council meetings. I don’t recall you ever getting up saying anything. You’ve made it clear, you are an independent, but what you fail to understand is the Council has 35,000 people to look out for, not just you.

Your letter talked about a 60 million dollar pension deficit. This was not created overnight. Every year I was on the council I fought to put additional money into the Pension fund. The last council who was Republican-controlled made little to no effort to solve the pension problem. Why didn’t you speak up then Richard?

One thing Mr. Polselli said is correct, the Democrats were in control in Coventry for many years. True, and while the Democratic Town Councils were in control, the Self Insurance Reserve Fund/Rainy Day Fund grew to 10 million dollars and the town had an AA bond rating, one of the highest in the state. Coventry was envied for its high bond rating.

Mr. Polselli, you stated the Republican-controlled council addressed all that was wrong with the budget and tried so hard to fix things. Here’s clarification for you sir:

The Republican Council went to work finding and spending every dollar they could get their hands on.

Unprecedented millions were spent on legal fees. They hired one of the most expensive law firms in the state. Million dollar lawsuits were settled, millions of dollars bonded, legal fees included, all rolled into one long-term indebtedness package, without even a vote from the hard working families of our town. We now have debt our children will be paying. I voted NO, NO, NO. But I can count. Four Republicans to One Democrat, I wish you would have spoke up like I did.

Sure, the Republicans didn’t raise taxes. They didn’t have to because they took the money the town had saved and basically subsidized our tax bill for two years. Great short term planning. Not so good long term.

For me Richard, one of the saddest moments of my last term was when the Republican controlled council wiped out the Self Insurance Reserve Fund. The prior Democratic Town Councils had managed our money well and the fund grew to 10 million dollars.

Today the town is no longer self-insured. The former Republican council decided it’s better to dismantle the fund and pay $425,000.00 per year to an Insurer rather than be self-insured and keep millions of our dollars in our banks. The towns bond rating has been lowered twice since this was done and I blame the Republicans for raiding our funds.

Richard, I was in favor of appointing you to one of the town boards you applied for last term, when your friends, the Republicans were in control. I’m sorry to say that I was your only “yes” vote. Ray Spear, Glenn Shibley and Laura Flanagan all said, “No, we can’t put him on”. I believe in giving people a chance, even second chances.

I would like to praise Gary Cote, Kerry McGee and Ted Jendzejec for taking on, as I stated earlier the hardest job I have ever done. They deserve respect, admiration and all the help we can give them. And Tom Hoover has done a great job as our Town Manager. Thank you gentlemen. Keep up the good work.

Sincerely Yours,

     Frank Hyde

Kira January 25, 2012 at 07:26 PM
Very very well said "Unprecedented millions were spent on legal fees. They hired one of the most expensive law firms in the state. Million dollar lawsuits were settled, millions of dollars bonded, legal fees included, all rolled into one long-term indebtedness package, without even a vote from the hard working families of our town." this is my favorite part because while taxes werent "raised" nobody asked where this money was coming from and why Ms. Flanagan who was hell bent on saving money chose this firm....I'm sure it had nothing to do with them being her previous employer or some back door deal. I hope Richard sees this letter. Thank you Frank.
coventry voter-Jay January 25, 2012 at 08:39 PM
Oh Kira what Frank neglects to put in his rebuttal is while he was on the Town Council he voted for and approved of many of the backroom deals and contracts along with Councilman Teddy that caused or added to the million dollar law suits in the first place. Some of contracts that stemmed the law suits were in fact drafted by the Contractor’s lawyer and recommended for approval to the Town Council by then Solicitor Sprague while Frank and the Dem party controlled the Council. . He also fails to mention he was on the Council with the republicans and DID NOTHING. Look at his voting record. He had his personal problems and tax problems both property and payroll during this time I will give him that, but My God Man you will not be allowed to re-write history. . Richard was a life –long democrat and raised thousands of dollars for the Coventry Dems. He helped many Dems including Frank get elected again and again. Now he has switched sides. . continued
coventry voter-Jay January 25, 2012 at 08:39 PM
Maybe he was visited by the political ghosts that are now haunting him because of his past digressions like Ebenezer Scrooge. Maybe his bucket list includes telling the truth about the corruption, back room deals, and political heavy handedness that has plagued Coventry for 25 years or so. Maybe he just woke up one day and said “Today and every day I’m going to make it right” . Whatever the motivation for Richard’s need to come clean I frankly don’t care Frank. The fact that it upsets you and Guthrie so much, is a tell tale that maybe Richard knows something here. Maybe Richard is spilling the beans and you don’t like it. . We as voters and taxpayers will not pay any attention to the man behind the curtain Frank. Your smoke and mirror show went out of style when your hot air balloon floated away.
david florio January 25, 2012 at 10:19 PM
I have been a resident of Coventry since 1982. The town was GOP at the time until 1986. What happened? The GOP gave the Police Department generous pension benefits that we are still paying for until this day. I saw many council Presidents, Bob Pluff, Ed Carley, Jim Kiley, Kevin McGee, Ron Wood, Frank Hyde , Ted Jensen, Justin Pomfret , Ray Spear and Gary Cote. This town has been recovering from GOP leadership and spending. Lets not forget Ray Spear worked with the CTA for years as School Superintendant. Frank Hyde may be alot of things but a liar he is not. I know first hand that every council since 1986 has struggled to keep taxes low, maintain our quality of life, care for the sick and help the elderly. So before we start attacking anyone lets keep our heads and be careful who we help. I'm always suspicious of individuals who switch voter identification like most people change their underwear.
david florio January 25, 2012 at 10:24 PM
Sorry I stand corrected Ted Jensen was not a Council President but Ted Jendzeic was. Just checking to see if anyone is paying attention.
coventry voter-Jay January 26, 2012 at 12:43 PM
Mr. Florio I think its spelled Jendzejec. I'm not trying to be the spelling police but think this is correct. . By Frank's estimate the Dems controlled the TC for about 20 years and during that entire time their hands were tied? . Let me get this straight: You, Dave Florio former chair of the Coventry Democrats will pledge your good name and reputation in the community, and swear before God and the Baby Jesus that “Frank Hyde is not a liar” . Holy Smokes Dave why didn’t you say that in the first place. You really could have saved me a ton of typing. I have these giant Slovak fingers and typing can be difficult. Try typing with ten fingers that look like Italian sausages. It aint easy!! . Let me be the first to congratulate you Mr. Florio for your honesty and being so forthcoming with the truth. You are truly one of the pillars of all that is good and righteous in the Town of Coventry.
Lauren Costa (Editor) January 28, 2012 at 07:00 PM
Editor's Note: After several emails/Facebook comments regarding the behavior on several politically-motivated comment threads, I would just like to ask that the Coventry Patch readers, please realize that unless the comments left on these articles contain unnecessary use of profanity, I will personally not remove them and/or referee any arguments/disputes that show up. Try to be civil and productive in your commentary. Hey - it may even help the situation! Thanks!
david florio January 29, 2012 at 02:16 PM
Lauren, you are editor and owner of this on-line information, and you will allow anyone ,who refuses to identify themselves ,to be verbally abusive to a person that has an opinion? This must have really entertained you. Just complete and total disrespect. I will never visit your site again and or offer any opinion whatsoever. Enjoy yourself!
Lauren Costa (Editor) January 29, 2012 at 04:19 PM
Dave, I sent you an email in response to this. Also, just so everyone is aware, there is a flagging option. If three or more people flag a specific comment, the website will take the comment down for review.
Patrick Malone January 29, 2012 at 06:04 PM
One down.
coventry voter-Jay January 30, 2012 at 01:40 PM
Dave sorry if I offended you. Lets all try to get along and not promote censorship of the opinions we disagree with. It does a disservice to the other readers and posters. Most of the people reading this I would assume are adults and can make up their own minds. You and I might disagree on Mr. Hyde’s willingness to be forthcoming and truthful but that doesn’t make me or you wrong, and it doesn’t make his words lies or the truth. . I did not attack Mr. Hyde or his family nor did I attack yours. Politicians are entitled to the same courtesy as regular folk. But you well know you give up some of your rights to privacy when you choose to make yourself a public person. Mr. Hyde chose to put a letter in just as Mr. Polselli did. Frank is an elected official on your Town Committee Mr. Polselli is a local business owner and former candidate. That makes their public comments and the validity of both their statements of fact up for further discussions. . Politicians have no right to cry foul when their performance, deeds or actions are called into question. It's a play out of the same old play book. "I'm the victim because someone called me out in public" sorry but politicians don't get that option.
Anthony Nardolillo January 31, 2012 at 12:14 AM
Dave Ms. Costa runs a great site and i don't think its her job to babysit adults.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »